On Reading Standards

It just occurred to me that as many people who discover me (or whom I invite among my real life acquaintances), will be devout Christians, I should probably issue a standard disclaimer concerning the books I will review in the space.

I read just about everything under the sun. I draw the line at romance novels and erotica, because I think the psychological and emotional ramifications of reading such trash is just as bad if not worse than the effects of the sexual content.

That said, I have read and enjoyed many books that have the occasional racy/erotic scene written into the story. Generally I just skip over that part, since after 2 decades of fruitful marriage, I know how sex works. The presence of such material in context, as a part of a well written and superbly executed work, is not enough for me to toss aside the book or refuse to review it. I will however, offer fair warning as part of the review for those of you whose standards are much stricter than my own.

Additionally, I read books with political and religious points of view that differ from my own. I am well past the age of easy impressionability and feel confident reviewing material with which I may disagree. There is no litmus test here based on religious correctness. Again, when the work is one that contains extensive material that needs to be disclaimed, I will do so.

When reviewing children’s books, I will be careful to categorize age appropriately and also offer any information concerning ideas that may need to be dissected more closely with young readers.

2 thoughts on “On Reading Standards

  1. LOL Els, I’m a voracious reader of practically everything, included the dreaded romance novel; 😳 (can’t be bothered with erotica – not my cuppa; ok inspie romance not either).

    Truly looking forward to your book discussions!

    Like

  2. I’m trying to decide what would be a good time to get around to Sharon Kay Penman. I don’t want to tackle her until I have the time to really discuss with you guys.

    Now THAT will be fun!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

