Real Music Interlude

Reading is slow going at present, but music is always playing. There was a hymn referenced in the book Their Eyes Were Watching God. It was one that we sang in church growing up and the tune has been stuck in my head for the last two weeks. It’s a very simple song:

Walk in the light, beautiful light

Come where the dew drops of mercy shine bright

Shine all around us by day and by night

Jesus, the Light of the world

I thought I’d share it:

And what’s a Friday without some jazz? Nearly two decades ago my husband (who loved himself some rap music, I might add) introduced me to Miles Davis’ album recorded in 1959, Kind of Blue. Like I said, this is real music. I hope all 3 of you enjoy it, and have a great weekend!

One thought on “Real Music Interlude

  1. Bonus track, just because. Tiny Desk Concert via NPR featuring Leon Bridges

    The reason I like this particular artist is because he brings back the old art of storytelling through music. The lion’s share of his songs are stories passed down to him from his mother and grandparents set to music. Not just a bunch of post modern silliness. For example, he opens the the third song in this mini concert set by pointing out that it’s the story of how his grandparents met.

    And yeah, it’s bluesy and the sax is tight, so it’s just my kind of music.

    Like

Leave a Reply

