In the Queue

After a relaxing Thanksgiving, a crazy Thanksgiving weekend, and a very slow start to what I like to call Recovery Monday, I decided that the least I can do is keep reading. It really is one of the only things that relaxes me. Not the only thing, but one of the top 3. So I dusted off the book pile and am planning on getting at least three books completed and reviewed by the end of the year. I also have a couple of children’s books that have stood the test in our family from our oldest now 21, to our youngest, who is 7.

Books I plan to read by the end of the first quarter of 2016:

  • Orthodoxy, by G. K. Chesterton. I am reading this in bits because it’s one of those books you don’t want to rush through. It gets better with age and I like to savor it, let the thoughts kind of roll around in my head for a couple days after I’ve read a chapter or two. It deserves no less. Yes, much like Lewis and Booker T. Washington, I am an intellectual groupie of Chesterton. I should make that a category.
  • Things Fall Apart, by Chinua Achebe. I’m pretty engrossed in this one right now and hope to be done by week’s end.
  • Life Together, by Dietrich Bonhoeffer. It’s been a few years since I read it, but it’s time to read it again.
  • Vanity Fair, by William Makepeace Thackeray. I’m expecting this to be a fun one.
  • Who Made God? And Answers to Over 100 Tough Questions of Faith, by Ravi Zacharias. I was with a fellow bibliophile, lamenting the dearth of Christian writers the caliber of Lewis, Chesterton, and Bonhoeffer, and she suggested I check out Ravi Zacharias. “A Lewis for our generation”, she said and loaned me this book as an introduction. Looking forward to reading this and more from him in the coming year.
  • Ready to Run, By Dr. Kelly Starrett. I am training for my first ever race, a 5K in early 2016, and I need to shore up some things. I know 5K is almost nothing to a few of you who read here, but to me it’s an accomplishment. The book comes highly reviewed and I need to finish it and implement some of the recommended changes.
  • Working With the Hands, By Booker T. Washington
  • The Color of Water, by James McBride
  • The Sunne in Splendour, by Sharon Kay Penman, comes heavily recommended by Maeve.
  • The Hunger Games, which fellow bibliophile sold me on. Since our girls already own them I can read them whenever the mood strikes.
  • Till We Have Faces, By C. S. Lewis. Nope, I have never read it. Yes, I blush slightly at the confession.

This is where you tell me what you’re reading, or planning to read as we move from 2015 to 2016. My 2016 list is still a work in progress and I’m open to suggestions.

So please, fire away.

 

21 thoughts on “In the Queue

  1. First of all, I’ve got to say that I love the term, ” … intellectual groupie …” that.is.great! Tell me, did you coin that phrase?

    I might try the book by Ravi Zacharias, Who Made God. It sounds like it would sit nicely on my bookshelf. Darrell and I spent the afternoon wondering in Chapters yesterday. I was going to purchase a compilation of Lewis’ books, but decided to go with Paleo for Dummies instead. (my husband shakes his head and laughs, “YOU are a freak. You spend 2 hours in the religious section and on the way out you change your mind, and pick up a Paleo book! I love ya.” He knows I have a reason for it: I can buy the Lewis book much cheaper for my kindle; which I plan to do.

    There was a posting on FB that I bookmarked: 10 children’s books you should re-read as an adult. Here’s the link: http://bit.ly/1XCQtde
    … it might interest you.

    Primary reading for the winter: I’m on my first reading of Radical Forgiveness by Brian Zahnd (excellent book btw). Second reading of Tell it Slant by Eugene Peterson and 3rd reading of The Bait of Satan by John Bevere. The Lewis book that I mentioned earlier, the compilation. Although the one I am mostly interested in is, The Weight of Glory (which unfortunately is NOT in the compilation, so I will have to purchase separately)

    Books that I am always in and out of … just because they have so much to give and it takes me so long to get it lol: Spurgeon on God. Bonhoeffer’s The Cost of Discipleship. Watchman Nee, Spiritual Authority. Philip Yancey, Fearfully and Wonderfully Made. I would love to read some of Chesterton (other than his quotes), and perhaps I will.

    My oldest daughter is reading (and re-reading) Paradise Lost. Now THERE is a heady read! She is sharing some of it with me; I am intrigued.

    Like

  2. I am pretty sure I read the term “intellectual groupie” from someone else in years past, but it stuck in my head.

    That’s a funny story. Sounds like something I would do, LOL.

    Watchman Nee’s Sit, Stand, Walk changed the way I read Scripture and opened my eyes to the freedom we have in Christ. I should read something else of his.

    Like

  3. I’m reading fiction right now. The Whiskey Robber and The Martian…..two different books, but that would make an interesting plot, now wouldn’t it?? πŸ™‚ Just beginning the whiskey robber one, but the Martian is about an engineer who gets abandoned on Mars and has to figure out how to survive, sounds boring, but it’s pretty interesting.

    Like

  4. I saw the movie, Jenny. At least I think I did if the fall release The Martian” with Matt Damon was based on the book that you are reading. It was a good movie so I am sure it is an interesting book.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. By the way Robyn, I checked out that book list. I agree with the author on most of them. I recently read The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane to refresh my memory before letting one of our younger kids read it. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

    I also reviewed Winnie the Pooh right here pretty recently. We enjoyed going through those tales.

    Thanks for the list!

    Like

  6. Currently reading The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield AND (for Advent) Confessions of St. Augustine (because, let’s face it, I don’t actually do any reading for the purposes of improvement, but rather for sheer pleasure, and while I don’t mind hedonism of that sort, am feeling a bit spiritually puckish and its annoying me, so going to feed it a bit).

    In the queue:
    Named of the Dragon, Susanna Kearsley
    When Gods Die, C. S. Harris
    A Hundred Words for Hate, Thomas Sniegoski
    A Passage to India, E. M. Forster
    Lady MacBeth, Susan Fraser King
    Queen Hereafter, Susan Fraser King

    So many books…so many things interfering with my reading of them!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’ve read Orthodoxy, wasn’t enchanted with Til We Have Faces, and just found Ravi Z for myself (mostly youtube while dishwashing) so I’m looking forward to your reading. And I read Vanity Fair last year or the year before.

    Yay for books and convo about books!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Well all I’ve read off that list (at least I think I read it, lol) is Things Fall Apart, so don’t feel too bad at having not read something or other. And no, I haven’t even read Vanity Fair. So there ya go. I’m not as well read as my name suggests, nor as much as people tend to think I am even without the silly name. I just can’t seem to be bothered with novels anymore. ::shrug:: Maybe when the SHTF and there’s nothing else to do, at which point I will probably read anything (while having a nice protein snack of guilt-free peanut butter cups, lol).

    Like

  9. I, as a general rule, read very few novels. It was only the occasional reading of Jane Austen or what have you. I tend to gravitate toward non fiction as a rule, mainly because I figure just about all modern or post modern fiction is crap.

    Then Jo handed me the three Penman historical fiction novels (I’ve reviewed two so far), and it rekindled my interest in fiction writing. Is till prefer religion, philosophy, education and politics. But reintroducing the novels into my reading has actually added more than I realized it would.

    It doesn’t feel frivolous anymore either, which was one of the things that drove me away from novels for years.

    Like

  10. I’m an English major too! LOL I was always more about the poetry though, it must be said. I actually started reading a novel last night (James Salter’s Light Years). Let’s see if I can finish it.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Well, frankly, I feel too swamped to actually sit down and read much anything — I feel like all I do is cook, clean, teach school, try to potty-train and then everything has to be done over again. But I picked up a copy of a book entitled “We Have the War Upon Us” by William J. Cooper at the dollar store this evening. It discusses the onset of the Civil War, and the time period covered is November 1860 to April 1861, very thick and detailed, so it should be interesting. I have a Civil War buff son, so I’m reading it first before passing it on to him as a possible birthday present.

    So — if I have sufficient free time without interruptions every five seconds between now and his birthday (which gives me a few months) — I’ll be reading this book.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Good morning, STMA. I have been there, where you are right now, when there is little down time for much of anything. Seasons change and hopefully next year (even if it takes a while), you”ll get to read your book.

    And Oh yeah, I remember potty training. The twins were especially an ordeal, but we got through it. Thankfully I never had to do it while homeschooling, though many mothers do. That would be rather a lot.

    Like

Leave a Reply

