O/T: Guilt-Free Reese’s in a Glass

This is totally off topic but it’s one of those little things you want to pass along when you stumble on to it. I just had lunch, and it was the perfect scratch to my itch for something sweet with minimal sugar. I made a peanut butter chocolate protein shake and it was just shy of being as good as having indulged in a package of Reese’s peanut butter cups.

Here’s what I put in it:

  • 2 Tablespoons PB2 peanut butter powder
  • 1 Tablespoon special dark cocoa powder
  • 1 heaping scoop of vanilla protein powder
  • 1 cup regular almond milk
  • 2 packets of stevia powder (I used Truvia because it’s what I had on hand)
  • 1 and 1/4 cups crushed iced

Blend for about 3 minutes, and indulge.

OMG why didn’t I do this sooner???

 

13 thoughts on “O/T: Guilt-Free Reese’s in a Glass

  1. I sometimes make peanut butter cups with these same ingredients but with coconut oil instead of milk. Just mix and throw in the freezer. Yummy, guilt free treat. I’ll have to try the blended drink. It sounds delicious!

    Like

  2. Welcome, wordsofgold!

    It was delicious.

    I have made the peanut butter cups also and they are good. I wanted a protein shake for lunch and I usually go for a fruit type.

    Today I didn’t want fruit, I wanted chocolate! And peanut butter! In short, I wanted Reese’s.

    This seemed like the perfect short cut plus it gave me the protein I was looking for in the process. It seems odd that I never did it before, actually.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Even my younger kids, who are generally underwhelmed with my healthy renditions (unless they are loaded with meat), drank it and said: “Oooh, this tastes like Reese’s!”

    It’s a keeper.

    Like

  4. I have read THM, and while there are some good idea in there, I have absolutely NO intention of voluntarily living life without sandwiches, LOL. So I knew it wasn’t the thing for me.

    I have been using the Lose It! app since Thanksgiving and it suits my personality and need for rigidity and control. I know that sounds funny, but I like numbers, hard goals, clear paths.

    Calorie counting gets a bad rap, but I am eating well, losing weight (I want to lose between 20-25), and have a good grasp on what I am eating so I’ll be sticking with this for the duration.

    But I do get good ideas from alternative recipes from THM on Pinterest. The copy I read was a library one, and I’m glad because like I said, I ain’t living without sandwiches by choice.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hear you on the sandwiches. 🙂 I had to do something, though, because my weight was really creeping up on me. I use Ezechiel bread. We have a bakery outlet where I can go and get it for fifty cents a loaf. Just a thought for anybody looking for a sprouted alternative or something; check for an outlet near you. It’s a thirty minute drive for me to go to an outlet, but I often do something in that direction once a month and that’s when I buy a lot — and only I use it, so it lasts me.

    Like

  6. Have any of you looked into the blood type diet? It’s pretty interesting (to me at least) and I find it confirms my own sense of what is good for me. It might be something like an ancestral diet (and that doesn’t necessarily mean “paleo”).

    (Type A, lots of vegetables. I don’t think I’ve met a vegetable I didn’t like, except maybe okra (not its fault; I don’t know how to cook it so it’s not slimy) and eggplant (which I don’t hate, but just find meh). Too much meat makes me feel like I’m missing something. My husband on the other hand (type O), doesn’t appreciate tofu, lol.)

    Like

  7. Just to clarify, I think all these diets are a bit silly, but I glean information from various sources. If it starts to get all complicated, I just do what is most simple. It’s food, not religion.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. My sister and her family are all into the blood type diet. I would have to say in my opinion it is based on junk science. In addition, my sister’s family’s health has worsened since they got involved in it. They have been doing it for at least ten years, probably longer.

    On the subject of okra — I started making okra brownies and smoothies, following the Trim Healthy Mama plan. Trust me, you really cannot tell it is in there.

    Like

  9. STMA – I admit the further I read about it, the sillier it got. Any diet that tells me I can’t eat red meat and smoked salmon goes in the bin, lol.

    Like

  10. That’s exactly how I felt about those plans which said you should never eat a carb with a protein. Pooh on that! even the Savior fed the hungry masses fish sandwiches, LOL.

    Like

  11. Update (in which I eat my words):

    Don’t know if St.Thomas Moore will see this, but I started doing Whole30 in a bid to kick my sugar habit and get my energy level up. I have a month until my 5K, my kids are leaning on me to commit to a 10K later this year, and I need the extra boost. Or at least I hope to gain an extra boost during and after this 30-day reset.

    Which means…no sandwiches for the next month. No baking either for the most part except for on Sundays when it seems we have company for dinner quite frequently of late. But I’ll skip the desserts that I am so well known for.

    And yes, I’m certainly hoping to jump start the weight loss by doing this. Mostly reading Suicide by Sugar (review forthcoming) has given me the push I need to cut back. Not that I eat a ton of junk because I don’t, but when you combine the bit I do eat with the sugar they sneak into almost all processed food (corn syrup is in sausage links, y’all!), I needed to make a change.

    Like

Leave a Reply

