Christmas Break Reading

Homeschooling is suspended as of today. The excitement has crowded out all ability to focus. Couple that with the fact that our college aged kids- the young adults who happen to be our kids- have taken their finals and are at home most mornings for the next month, and it became more than obvious that it’s time for Christmas break to be under way. What does that mean? CARTOONS!

Well, no. That’s what the girls wanted it to mean this morning so off to the library we went to gather up more constructive ways to entertain when we aren’t cooking, baking, wrapping and running back and forth to church for Christmas rehearsals.

Rather than bring home a stack solely comprised of page turners, we checked out a few Playaways as well as a few CD audio books for the girls to listen to. Currently, the 4th grader is listening to R.L. Stine’s Goosebumps, Help! We Have Strange Powers, and the 2nd grader is listening to The Cricket in Times Square.

And yes, there will also be cartoons.

The book I plan to read aloud to them over the next few weeks is Fig Pudding by Ralph Fletcher. The books I plan to read for myself are The Egg and I by Betty MacDonald and Vanity Fair, in addition to advent readings.

In the highly likely event that this is my last post of 2015, I wish all 10 of my regular readers a blessed and love-filled celebration of Our Messiah’s advent and a prosperous start to the New Year!

 

4 thoughts on “Christmas Break Reading

  1. Merry Christmas to you and yours as well, Robyn!

    Let ne throw in a plug for The Egg and I while I’m at it. It is a hilarious book, I just started it today and have quite literally been carrying around with me in my purse so that I can whip it out whenever.

    This is a good memoir that in addition to being funny also shatters many myths that we post-moderns hold dear about the way women walked out wifehood and motherhood way back when.

    Especially in the Western expansion, which is where many rugged American values got their legs.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

