New Year, New Books, New Whatever

Happy New Year to all of you!

This one is a little off topic -inspired by Hearth’s New Year’s thoughts. However, it’s not very far off topic since a lot of what I plan to accomplish is centered around reading more, learning more, and doing more this year. I don’t really do resolutions as I find it much more effective to start making changes the moment you recognize that a change needs to be made. Here is…The List:

  • Read through the Bible. It’s been quite a few years since I’ve done that so I figure it’s time again. I find it easier and more doable when I use The Daily Bible. I even have a pretty new leather bound journal to jot down things to pray and ask my husband about later.
  • Run my first 5K. I learned a lot from Ready to Run, which I will review later, and I’m already to putting it into practice. I was supposed to run a race last year, but every time I was ready to prepare for one I was sick, or injured, or some other thing sidelined me. I’ve been guarding my health like a hawk the past few months because I spent a bit of money to enter this one and I’m not wasting it.
  • Complete at least one sewing project per month. Some will be small. For example, a couple of my older girls have requested sleep masks, and I have a couple of pairs of jeans I’m recycling into skirts. Others will be more involved, depending on time and budget, but I need to step it up in the sewing department. I’ve been getting more acquainted with pattern markings as I’ve read the pattern markings chapter of my recently acquired sewing book.
  • Expand the gardening plot. I usually grow a relatively few vegetables every spring and an occasional two in the fall, but I plan to do more this year. A guy at church clued us in that we can get free composted soil (as much as we like!) from our local landfill and I can’t wait to go do that. This sandy Florida soil usually requires a hefty bit of infusion which can be hard on the budget, so this bit of news excited me!
  • More balanced reading. I already make a pretty big effort to read things that are a cross section of educational, edifying, and entertaining, but it is always good to keep a close eye for the proper balance. yeah, I know that might sound anal to the hedonist readers here, but it’s how I think.
  • Chill out some. Life is too short and too uncertain to go through it with the proverbial stick…Resting in the promise of God’s grace and making every effort to obey Him and please Him frees us from the incessant striving to be more holy and better than everyone around us. It infuses one with joy.

I have all sorts of thoughts that encroach around the first of the year but I mostly dismiss them as just so much silliness that I’ve imbibed from years of reading foolish “New Year, New You” articles. I’ve learned to do what needs to be done to the best of my ability, and set goals as I see a need. All the rest is just New Year’s hype.

Those are a few of my New Year’s thoughts. Feel free to share yours!

 

5 thoughts on “New Year, New Books, New Whatever

  1. Good luck on the 5k–one possibility for reducing the stress level is to visit the local running shoe store and see what budget 5ks they have. One near where I live has runs every week or so for about $5. No t shirt, but lots of fun.

    Have fun with the Scriptures too–I don’t know why I started reading through each year a while back, but it’s been a huge blessing.

    Like

  2. Thanks, Bike! I am kind of excited even though I’m slow. Real slow, like 12 minute mile slow, LOL. But a year ago I could barely run a mile without getting winded so…

    You read through the Bible every year? Impressive. I tend to through read books and by topics.

    Happy New Year, Bike!

    Like

  3. I received copies of “Bilbo’s Journey: Discovering the Hidden Meaning of The Hobbit” and “Frodo’s Journey: Discovering the Hidden Meaning of The Lord of the Rings” both by Joseph Pearce. They are thinner books, 132 pp and 142 pp respectively, so quicker reads. Joseph Pearce is a very interesting lecturer and author, speaking at many Catholic homeschool conventions. You might find them interesting.

    Like

  4. One of my girls gave me a couple of books for Christmas as well. I’m looking forward to reading them at some point. Right now I have a few library books i need to finish first. She got me:

    -20,000 Leagues Under the Sea
    -The first 5 Novels of the Wizard of Oz
    – The Story of King Arthur and His Knights

    All quite voluminous, which is good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

