The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane

the-miraculous-journey-of-edward-tulane  The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane, by Kate DiCamillo. Published in 2006.

Edward Tulane was a rare and delicate china rabbit, greatly loved and well cared for by the child who owned him, a little girl named Abilene. Abilene adored Edward, treating him as a real and true friend. He even had a seat at the family’s dining table.

Although Edward being made of china, could not express himself to those around him, he thought a great deal about many things. Among them was his near constant sense of pleasure with himself. He was pretty haughty in fact, right up until the day he got lost. Separated from Abilene, Edward begins a journey that lasts many years giving him a new perspective and appreciation for all kinds of people from different walks of life.

I read this book a couple of months ago in order to decide whether or not it would be appropriate for our second grader, who was drawn to it by curiosity brought on by the cover art when she found it on our permanent book shelf. I wasn’t sure if some of the themes were too advanced for her despite her reading ability, but decided to allow her to read it.

Her assessment was that the story was good, however that some chapters were too sad for a children’s book. We have been careful to avoid the post-modern habit of only exposing our children to the most sanitized, upbeat versions of classic stories and fairy tales. Therefore based on her reaction, I concluded that some of the themes explored may be a little intense for children younger than 9 or 10.

Edward spends time with hobos, with a poor family caring for a terminally ill child, and several other interesting characters on his miraculous journey before coming full circle to where it all began.

I enjoyed this book a good deal and recommend it. Read the first chapter here for a teaser.

Grade: B

Content advisory: terminal illness, parental alcoholism, shades of potential mental illness, and child abuse are a few of the themes touched on in this book. In my opinion, these things are presented with delicacy and simplicity so as not to overwhelm young readers. It’s certainly nothing an average 4th grader couldn’t handle and process just fine.

11 thoughts on “The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane

  1. I’m not sure whether to be proud of you or jealous of you: How on earth do you find the time to read woman!? I am only half way through, The Egg and I. I joined a book club in December, actually BELIEVING I had the time to incorporate more reading. I must read super slow!

    Like

  2. I read quickly and I read when I’m awake…. I am a founding member of reading while: Walking, folding laundry, bathing, making dinner, eating, and drifting off to sleep. When a book has captured me, I am truly at its mercy.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Let it be duly noted that I do not, can not, and have never been able to multi-task. One of the reasons I haven’t answered as of yet is because there are days when I have a hard schedule that is hard to wiggle in extras.

    But I do have a strategy to get in reading precisely because it is a priority of mine, same as it for Maevey. It’s nothing as glamorous or death-defying as Hearthie, though.

    I basically make time in the evenings while my husband is watching some nerd stuff on TV. I snuggle up next to him with a lamp and read.

    Beyond that though, I have my day set up where there are at least a couple of opportunities to read in 30 minutes intervals during the day.

    But my days start at 5:00 every morning and I get a fair amount done between 5:45 (after my morning run) and 7:00. Before the homeschooled kids even wake up. They have regular structured reading times and I read during those as well. At those times I take notes as I read which makes it easier to churn out a post in 30 minutes or less.

    All that said, our household set up (with 3 young adult daughters in it) creates a distribution of labor that makes it easier for me to do a lot of things that are not as easy for other mothers. Except for the homeschooling (both in home and co-op teaching are very time consuming).

    Liked by 1 person

  4. LOL … “It’s nothing as glamorous or death-defying as Hearthie, though.”

    YES!! Godly daughters are such a blessing! To get more reading time I had decided to incorporate a some time on Tuesday and Thursday evenings. Not really a ‘resolution’ just need a little more structure.

    I like the sound of scheduling in 30-minute intervals. My man comes home for lunch every day, after he goes back to work, I practice piano, I could slot it in right after that. It never occurred to me, thanks!

    Like

  5. YES!! Godly daughters are such a blessing!

    They are a big help (even when accounting for the busyness of their own lives), and are good, virtuous young women. Not saints, but -if I do say so myself- a cut above the average young women their age.

    My man comes home for lunch every day…

    A woman after my heart. Your husband is your husband, but there is something visceral about it when you refer to him as “my man”. Funny that you mostly only hear women in insecure relationships refer to a man that way. But I’m getting off topic…

    Finding the time to read requires commitment, but like almost every area of life we find the time to do the things that are a priority for us. *note to self at sewing time tomorrow*

    So if you prioritize music or art or cooking or whatever over reading, then just read your books slowly and at a pace that is line with your priorities. I think the more important thing is to read at all. So few people do anymore. Well, so few read actual books. Like Maeve noted, for the purposes of this discussion blogs and websites don’t count.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

