Music Interlude

As long as I can remember, which would be at least the past 40 years, people called on my daddy to come and sing this song at their loved ones’ home going services. Last week, my eldest brother sang it for him. It is a powerful song. I hope the lyrics touch you the way they do me:

May the Work I’ve Done Speak for Me

May the work I’ve done speak for me.
May the work speak for me.
When I’m resting in my grave,
There’s nothing more to be said;
May the work that I’ve done speak for me

May the service that I give speak for me
May the service that I give speak for me.
When I’ve done the best I can and my friends don’t understand
May the service that I give speak for me.

The work that I’ve done
It may seem so small
Sometimes it seems like nothing at all
But when I stand before my judge
I want to hear him say, “Well done!”
May the work that I’ve done speak for me.

May the life I live speak for me
May the life I live speak for me.
When I am resting in my grave there is nothing left to be said
May the life I’ve lived speak for me.

 

4 thoughts on “Music Interlude

  1. If I’m reading this right, my condolences on the death of your father. May the promise of Christ be a great comfort to you in this, and I wish I could have met him on this side of Jordan. Might just have to tip a garbage collector in his memory….

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was skeptical if my brother could pull it off, Booky. We all (all 8 of his siblings) were. But he said knowing that every kind word and recounting of what a great and generous man our dad was absolutely true-as opposed to things people tend to say at times like this-made a huge difference.

    I don’t think I could have done it.

    Like

  3. Thanks, Bike. My dad retired from that line of work a long time ago (I think he was 54) but he still took excellent care of his garbage collectors every year, twice a year. I think he’d like it if you did that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

