El’s Rabbit Trails: Things you see when you get outside.

There are people in parts of the country (the world even!) for whom getting outside isn’t particularly prudent right now. But I’m not in one of those places!!!

78 with mostly sunny skies and a delightful breeze has meant for a week with lots of time spent outdoors. We spend a lot of time outside in spring because when the summer hits down here, the humidity and mosquitoes make spending hours out of doors pleasant only in the morning and evening.

Here are a few of the sights from the mid-morning walk. The first is the trail the girls and I walked:

trail

Given that I live in what can only be referred to as the concrete jungle, it was exciting to be able to take pictures of wildlife. A snake sunning itself:

snake

What I think is a Florida blue heron:

bird

And a turtle (of what variety I haven’t the slightest idea):

turtle

So…if you’re in one of those places where spring has sprung, go ahead and get outside. It’s rejuvenating!

Inspired by Jenny and Hearthrose, even though I don’t think I gleaned any profound spiritual wisdom during my trek.

7 thoughts on “El’s Rabbit Trails: Things you see when you get outside.

  1. What a beautiful trail!!

    “We spend a lot of time outside in spring because when the summer hits down here, the humidity and mosquitoes make spending hours out of doors pleasant only in the morning and evening.” I can totally identify with this. We are originally from southern Ontario and it is like that for the end of July and Most of August.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. LOL. Someone visited me from Australia and they were shocked that we had pools. She was like, “Why?” …. “You only have summer for 2 months!” …. I corrected her, “No, it’s 3 months!”

    Like

  3. It’s so much greener there than where I live! I’m looking forward to trees full of leaves in my next pictures. I love the animal pics.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. After 10 below, 40 is a great reason to get outside! It should also be noted that the average high in Fairbanks in July is 73F, too–so really a lot of the northland gets some heat. They even get some 90 degree days up there, and I remember seeing an Inuit kid from up around Barrow sweating up a storm in 75 degree heat in Anchorage. Poor kid–up north of the Arctic Circle, they really do lose summer with average highs in the 40s, so for all he knew, he may as well have been in Tallahassee!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. 40 is cold to us Bike. I felt like a real runner after tackling a couple of40 degree mornings!

    I knew it gets hot other places. I just didn’t think there was much humidity that far from the equator.

    Like

  6. :^) Having experienced 95F/95% in Orlando in September, I would agree that southern heat is, um, special. But the summer of 1988 got a lot of 90F /90% days in Chicagoland (at least 40 if I remember right), and I joke that one particularly bad day–104F/stifling and downwind of a manure pile and a goose pen–really helped me in college.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

