The Power of a Praying Wife

praying wife book

The Power of a Praying Wife, by Stormie Omartian, originally published in 1996.

One of the essential things a wife can do is pray for her husband. I believe that strongly. I pray for my husband regularly but often find that in seasons of calm or marital bliss (both of which happen to be our present state), my prayers become redundant and lacking in fervency. I find myself at a loss as to what to pray for besides his health, work and wisdom.

This book has been on my book shelf for at least a decade. Well, some version of it has been on my book shelf for at least a decade. I have given away several copies over the years and had to go out and replace it.

With each return to it, I find that my attachment to it is not so much that the writing is brilliant, or even that the theology is flawlessly presented. I don’t necessarily pray the prayers within verbatim as I go through it. What I love about this book, and I do love it, is that it gives me the opportunity to do three things:

  • Pray for my husband in a specific area of his life each day for 30 days with a sense of purpose and passion,
  • Consider areas and struggles he may be facing that are easy for me to miss because he is such a strong and confident man, and
  • Talk to him about things he may appreciate prayer for that it would never occur to him to mention.

One of the best things about this book is that there is wifely accountability built into the prayers and encouragement. For example:

If we are filled with anger and bitterness, or insist on complaining and blaming God, things tend to turn out badly.

There is plenty of direction for how to pray for God to help our husbands in their struggles, whatever they might be, for those who are concerned about that. But Mrs. Omartian makes it clear that we are not our husband’s guardians while encouraging wives to pray for God to help us to do our part by guarding our hearts:

But God considers the sins of unforgiveness, anger, hatred, self-pity, lovelessness, and revenge to be just as bad as any others.

And being the best we can be:

I pray that we will desire each other and no one else. Show me how to make myself attractive and desirable to him and be the kind of partner he needs.[emphasis mine]

Being something of a regimented person, not really given to a free flowing approach to the faith, I have a strong preference for praying Scripture which applies to a given area, and this book does that superbly! It’s my favorite part about it.

As I said in the beginning, there will be for those so inclined, opportunities to pick a nit here or there with this book. It is NOT the Bible, after all. However the balance tilts far over in favor of the good. It is a resource I recommend for just about every wife. It covers any and every possible facet of life.

I’m going to be going through it (again) starting on Wednesday, June 1st, which is why I’m reviewing it and suggesting that those of you who have a copy to find it and brush it off.

Let me know if you do.

Grade: A

 

 

14 thoughts on “The Power of a Praying Wife

  1. I gave away my copy some time ago, but I remember working through it. Because I am *not* given to regimented prayer, it was work, lol. But it was also very good instruction for how to pray for your husband, and I would agree that it is instructive and helpful.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When a person asks me to pray for them I am that person who is going to pray for them right then and there lest I forget and later feel like a liar because I almost certainly will forget. And I pray little prayers throughout my day.

    When I have prayer time I have to have a list of people/things to pray for and I pray Scripture a lot depending on the situation.

    When it comes to my husband, unless there is a specific challenge or struggle I lapse into a rote sort of deal. Re-reading PPW is not so much about using it like a template as much as a refresher.

    Like

  3. This book has been a great help to me; I’ve also been in and out of it for years now. But she was a great help when I was first learning to pray in general. I use it as springboard into the real areas of my heart that need the most work. And honestly, I start out praying for D. but what happens is in the process of claiming victory for some area that “I” think “he” needs … the Lord shows me my need! Then I end up thanking God for D. and praying for me!!

    God is good ….. (and He has a sense of humour)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You know Robyn, I guess it’s been about 12 years since I resolved to pray for my husband the things he would want rather than for things in him to change to my liking.

    Have I executed it perfectly? Not always but more often than not. One of the best things about PPW is the very high level of accountability for wives. There are plenty of spiritual mirrors for she who is willing to see.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. That’s the trick isn’t though: ” …plenty of spiritual mirrors for she who is willing to see.” You have to really *want* it. (btw, I’ve got to thank Hearthie, I assume the asterisks mean emphasis or italics. Love that!) It’s when you really do want to be made into the wife God designed you to be, do you begin to see examples and prompts everywhere!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This: And honestly, I start out praying for D. but what happens is in the process of claiming victory for some area that “I” think “he” needs … the Lord shows me my need! Then I end up thanking God for D. and praying for me!! … is why I pray very very generally for my husband for the most part!!!!

    PS asterisks will bold a word in Word, so yes, they’re an emphasis marker. Without allcaps.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Then I end up thanking God for D. and praying for me!! … is why I pray very very generally for my husband for the most part!!!!

    Most of my prayers for my husband are indeed prayers of gratitude as well. I just have a *thing* about whether or not I am missing something that I should be praying for. And by that I don’t mean any weaknesses or sins in his life. I mean things he might actually need and desire to have me pray for that we both miss.

    Like

  8. Okay, so I started PPW this morning with chapter 1 (His Wife), and although I enjoyed it, I sort of *get* what you were saying Hearth. There are plenty of areas where I need work, but the delusion that I am all right and in no need of change is not one of them. The reality of how incredibly blessed I am to be married to him is firmly embedded in my soul.

    In other words, I would say I earn a solid A- on an test covering the material in chapter 1. But I went ahead and read it because I want to be a finisher of what I start.

    Like

  9. It’s been a decade or so since I read it, so … 🙂 I am just not one for pre-written prayers. Excepting the Lord’s Prayer, which I’ve taken up praying lately because it covers quite a lot, and saves me (somewhat ironically) from vain repetition of the same requests every morning.

    Like

  10. Oh… it’s not the pre-written prayers that I read it for. It’s the subjects and the corresponding verses.

    My point though was that I might find here that there ate subjects I don’t necessarily *need* the refresher on as much as I thought I did.

    Like

  11. -nods- You make me want to re visit the book. But I remember not enjoying it much the first time. It was instructive and I’d recommend it, mind you.

    Like

  12. “The reality of how incredibly blessed I am to be married to him is firmly embedded in my soul.”

    Made me smile. I am so encouraged when I read/hear about grateful wives.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

