Musical Interlude:Father’s Day Break Edition

I wrote the date down today. Is it June already? Father’s Day is in two weeks and for the first year -ever- ours is going to be markedly different. June 1st marked 4 months to the day that my family of origin’s ship lost its rudder.

Husband and I don’t do things for one other on Mother’s or Father’s Day for several years now. We -well he– figured that if we’re going to do the thing at all it should be done right. Let the children honor their parents. I agreed and still do, but this day wasn’t in my head at the time.

In contemplation of my new Father’s Day normal, I went looking for songs honoring fathers. The selection and quality were -as you might have guessed- pretty terrible. But I found Nancy Sinatra’s song, It’s for My Dad, poignant and sweet:

 

I have a lot of good books on tap so in a couple weeks I hope to put up a review.

Until some time after Father’s Day then!

Edited to add: Got sick and had too much time on my hands. So I’m back a little bit before Father’s Day.

Leave a Reply

