Creative Miscellany: Quaint Country Photos

I am not much of a photographer, but when I get in the mood for it, the camera is with me every where I go.

We recently spent a few days in the country. I mean the real country, not the outskirts of suburbia where people have a couple acres, a few chickens and a garden box. I don’t mean to denigrate that lifestyle (I’ll take it over this concrete jungle), but when you spend some time in the real back woods, you see the difference in ways you wouldn’t otherwise.

Anyways, while there I couldn’t help but find myself taking pictures of the scenery before our return to real life of suburban sprawl. There’s plenty I love about our life, but the difference between roosters, goats, and crickets in the morning compared to car doors, garbage trucks, and planes flying overhead is pretty startling.

mom phone 185
Hand made by my uncle (in-law), as was the cabin we stayed in

Going outside in the early AM to calm, quiet, and a breeze rustling the trees is pretty exhilarating.

mom phone 156

mom phone 183

Little touches outside the front door to remind you of the glory of God give me the warm fuzzies:

mom phone 180

The decor in our house is pretty contemporary, but I loved this lamp:

mom phone 177

Spending a few days in a log cabin, built by the hands of a loved one, with wood from trees he cut and harvested-with his wife!- made it all the more special:

mom phone 197

mom phone 178

mom phone 164

It was sublime really, but there still is no place like home, and the very next evening after we arrived home my husband pulled over to the side of the road to snap this picture of the dusk sunset:

stormy sunset

 

These are truly times which try men’s souls, to borrow from Thomas Paine. Nevertheless, there is always beauty to be found for those who dare to look.There is always something to be thankful for.

 Finally… whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things. ~Philippians 4:8

 

9 thoughts on “Creative Miscellany: Quaint Country Photos

  1. Looks like a nice place! Did you get to see actual stars at night? I love that in the country!

    Like

  2. You’d have to have a tripod at least to get that (assuming you’re just doing hand held). With that sort of thing I figure there are plenty of better photos than I’m going to get so why bother, lol. (My moon picture notwithstanding; I did that for fun and didn’t expect to get anything halfway good).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. By the way Booky. Let me tell you about my husbands aunt who works very hard with her husband on their property.

    Mid 50’s trim, fit, and almost never forsakes at least 7 hours of sleep in some misguided attempt to keep a perfect house. The house is clean, but you get my drift. Rarely wears a skirt but cleans up so well she could pass for 40 when she does.

    Helps cut wood, clear land, you know. All that feminine stuff. Husband is strong and youthful looking too.

    When I left I was reminded of your thoughts on real work and how much healthier and calm are the women I have encountered who have occasion to work, really work.

    Busyness, which is my life between cooking, laundry and homeschooling just isn’t the same thing.

    Even though I cut the yard every week, LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sounds like it was a nice relaxing time away, good for you!

    Sometimes I don’t know where I fit anymore. We live in a smaller type town(ish) in Alberta, but I love being right outside a major urban center. When I’m there I want to be here. When I’m here, I think I want to be there. Our son would say, “first world dilemma.”

    It was easier when we were younger; we lived in the big cities and we loved it …. we knew we fit.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It is easy for me to idealize that life, but I’m a city/suburban girl at heart. I like being 5 minutes from the nearest grocery store. I love our library system where there are so many-free-services. There are things I do enjoy about this life. Homeschool options galore are another.

    Out there it’s a 30-mile drive to the world’s largest retailer that you can usually find anywhere. But it is so peaceful and idyllic and the innocence of the life there appeals to me. When SHTF, I’d be totally fine with going there and it’s comforting to know that it is there. whether for a respite or in a potential time of need.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

