El’s Rabbit Trails: Sexy School Daze

Given the atmosphere in the public school system in general, we didn’t really need reason to confirm our choice to avoid public schools. However, this story is another thing that reiterates how many people in the system haven’t a clue about what an education is supposed to be about.

Before I go any further, I’ll put this on record. This chick? She has some killer curves, she hangs her dresses well, and I’m not going to hate on her since there was a day when I wouldn’t have thought twice about wearing a dress that was too tight or too short. This isn’t about my thoughts on her assets or my lack thereof.

She’s beautiful, and if she were going out on a date with her husband, or even to the club for those into the club scene, she should wear her dress and rock it all she wants. Not everyone subscribes to my Christian modesty standards, and I recognize that full well. But there are also places where she shouldn’t wear it. For example a funeral, a church service,  a job interview, or a class full of impressionable students.

With all that out of the way, the story that was featured on the daily mail about the young woman dubbed, “The sexiest teacher alive“:

An Atlanta fourth grade teacher has caused a heated debate online over her form-fitting work attire.

Patrice ‘Tricey’ Brown – now dubbed ‘#TeacherBae’ on Twitter – has been called the ‘sexiest teacher alive’, but she’s also caused an all-out social media war over what is appropriate garb for a grade school educator.

Brown, a paraprofessional for Atlanta Public Schools, posted several pictures of herself to her now-private Instagram account.

As much as I am sure the male staff and developing young boys enjoy the scenery, school is not the place for this. Maybe they need to make the teachers start wearing school uniforms too.

That way, like the students they teach they can avoid the struggle of having to figure what is and isn’t okay to wear when they go to work.

13 thoughts on “El’s Rabbit Trails: Sexy School Daze

  1. Oh Lordy. I thought this was going to be about some teenager at school. The last pic (with the brown dress and long cardi) was actually OK I think. The pink bodycon with strappy heels, not so much, lol.

    School uniforms for teachers might be a good solution. It’s come to this; adults can’t make a sensible choice of clothing for their jobs. Well, nurses have uniforms…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is in no way intended as an insinuation that I have ever been that beautiful, but I know from experience that it is hard to dress an hourglass well in a way that doesn’t accentuate curves somewhat.

    For professional purposes however, it is best to think Mad Men rather than knits or spandex.

    Hearth is the one who inspired the thought of Mad Men.

    Like

  3. I hear you Els. It’s much easier to modestly dress the *not* hour-glass body type. And a C/D cup surely fills out a sweater much differently than an A/B cup! When I was part of the world, I dressed according to the world. But isn’t that exactly the reason Jesus came? Because the world is, the world. I have the hour-glass shape as well and know that it’s completely possible to make the choice to emphasize endowment(s) or minimize them.

    But having said that, there is a difference, slightly. All things being equal: You can take the same outfit and put it on two different women and skank, will still show through, if skank is in the heart.

    This is more of the fruit from feminism.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. True, body types matter. We discussed this here because our oldest girl has a very similar WHR to the teacher and she has never even considered wearing anything so clingy.

    My point here though is more about appropriate standards within the education system more than modesty because I respect that my convictions cannot be imposed on other women. I have very little doubt that the dress I wore out with my husband for our anniversary would rub a few of my sisters the wrong way.

    But…there should be some sense of shared standard for what is acceptable in a public school. That there seems to be a free for all such as the one that allowed this story to been be a thing is yet another reasons for parents to pull their kids out

    Liked by 1 person

  5. One other thing Robyn. I wasn’t’ dismissing your points about dressing like the world. I get it. I just don’t know that it is relevant in this woman’s case. Decorum however is always in order which is why I focused on that.

    It is commonly assumed that women of a certain age raise the objections I raised because of jealousy and THAT is the reason I wanted to make clear that I think this woman is beautiful and that depending on her views and or the occasion she is dressing for, not everything that emphasizes curves is inappropriate.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I didn’t think you were dismissing my points 😉

    I don’t believe you can expect standards at all from a system that has diminishing standards. “Decorum” is to be expected, for sure, when there is a similar jumping off point. Even the church, which is supposed to have Christ as its head and center as a jumping off point cannot reach agreement on many things, just look at all the sects within the Christian religion.

    I do get your point, I just don’t think it’s fair to expect eloquent behaviour in clothing from the heart of someone that doesn’t have that going on in their heart. If truth be told, the only reason you and I know any better is because of the wisdom of Christ.

    Perhaps I’ve had more time to climatize to a dysfunctional education system as here in Canada, it’s been in a steady dive for at least 40 years now due to VERY liberal views.

    Is it wrong to carry on the way that this teacher is? Absolutely. But it is what I expect from a secular system. I think the parents that are affected by this, people that are defining themselves by their faith and relationship with God, will see and WILL continue to withdraw their kids, one by one, out of the system.

    When you said this, “It is commonly assumed that women of a certain age raise the objections I raised because of jealousy … ” Honestly, that never occurred to me, about you.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Not just in Atlanta….I remember my wife coming home from a dentists’ appointment having heard that a lot of teachers in the suburban twin cities were trying to rock their inner Madonna/Beyonce/whatever. I know it’s hard to fit any body, let alone one with curves, but seriously?

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I agree that it’s not just in Atlanta, Bike. Which brings up another point from the comments on the article that I didn’t ention in my OP, and that’s the fact that there were a few people claiming that not only was this woman being shamed for being curvy, but that she was shamed for being black, since non overweight black women are more likely to be built like “teacherbae” than other ethnicity of women.

    I just think it’s ridiculous that teachers and educators don’t understand that school isn’t the place to express their sexy side. I don’t care what ethnic background they are.

    Like

  9. I can see the racial side, and I’ve got some compassion for the teacher in that way. I’ve been helping Mrs. Bubba do some things tailored to her physique, and even with “white girl curves” (am I allowed to say that?), there’s a degree of difficulty. Even mid-range to upper cost clothing really doesn’t do her justice. For teachers, I’m guessing there’s a lot of difficulty balancing a limited budget with the reality of “bag or shrink wrap”.

    But that said,….at least one could try.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

