El’s Rabbit Trails: Misinformation Overload 

A conversation had with my husband: 

Relative: “You all set to vote Trump?”

“I’ll have to sit this one out.”

Relative: “I thought you liked him. But you can vote for Hillary.”

“If I had to pick one of the two it would NOT be her. ”

Relative: “We can’t let him in there. He’s all mixed up with the KKK.”

“Yeah, because a rich New Yorker is way more likely to be mixed up with KKK than a woman whose husband grew up in an Arkansas trailer park.”

14 thoughts on “El’s Rabbit Trails: Misinformation Overload 

  1. Typo alert: Eli’s Rabbit Trails, and New Worker. 😉

    I think the KKK stuff is the least of anyone’s worries. Planned Parenthood has achieved what the KKK can only dream of anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. By the way…been on the run a lot (school stuff, co-op, basketball, holiday prep and family gatherings). It has interfered with reading.

    However this blog is not going to wander off the reservation too often for too long. Book review by Thursday for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think I would subscribe to Winston’s sentiments when having to choose between two perceived unworthy choices: “If Hitler invaded hell I would make at least a favourable reference to the devil in the House of Commons.” – Winston Churchill

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What Booky says. When the KKK murders hundreds of thousands of black kids per year like Planned Parenthood does, then I’ll entertain the notion that Mr. Drumpf is more racist than is Hilliary. Not until, however.

    And really, for 7th straight Presidential election, I will not be voting for anyone. I will as usual be voting against their opponent.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Truth is Bike (and I debated going here which is why the reply is so delayed), there is no real difference between “voting against” one person and voting “for” the lesser of the two evils. The result is exactly the same. I think there is a legitimate place for Christians -even American Christians- to simply opt out.

    Eavan does a good job of exploring it here:

    https://haideemetea.wordpress.com/2016/09/11/thoughts-on-voting-as-a-christian/

    Like

  6. His point is well taken, and the major response I can give is this; I know that one evil person has 34 or more Senators willing to keep her in office, and the other does not have 34 Senators willing to keep him in office. Hence she is more dangerous than he is.

    (on the flipside, she’s whistling past the graveyard…..who can tell?)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. (on the flipside, she’s whistling past the graveyard…..who can tell?)

    LOL.

    I get all the reasons for voting for the lesser evil. We are all well versed in it by now, and for years, many of us have been swayed just enough to hold our noses and pull a lever.

    I think this is asking too much from too many and it is probably the beginning of the end of the GOP being able to use fear of the left to get the *truly* conservative/traditional vote.

    All that is left is for the black/female/legal immigrant useful idiots to get a clue and abandon their lying party.

    Perhaps then, assuming the country hasn’t gone up in flames and fallen into a state of martial law, there could be real elections with real choices again.

    Like

  8. I’m not voting for the lesser evil, I’m voting for someone who resonates with me on a personal and policy level. I absolutely never thought anyone would include SAHMs in childcare expenses as part of their tax platform, or even consider postpartum physical recovery something that it was a good idea to support society-wide. I do completely agree that withholding one’s vote is a sound choice, though. I just wish more people had realized it was an option before this particularly polarizing election cycle.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. I didn’t know Trump’s childcare proposal considered SAHMs, which is certainly a sound departure from the policy of paying women to leave their babies. Interesting.

    I agree that more of us should have considered withholding our votes a long time ago. If not a long time ago, at least with the election cycle beginning with McCain-Palin

    Like

  10. I have to agree with TPC. I like that his ideas include SAHM and postpartum recovery because I think that government should be supportive and protective of family issues due to the family being the fundamental unit of society. The only misgivings I would have is that once the government starts funding something like postpartum recovery time, then they also can start making rules that must be followed to get said funding. Sometimes those rules can interfere with parents making decisions they would otherwise make in fear of losing out on the funding. I would have to know more details about how it’s going to be paid for. I admit I haven’t read his plan in detail.

    The other reason I’m voting for Trump is that he will most likely have the opportunity to name more Supreme Court justices than just the vacant seat at present. The Court has such sway on our laws these days that I think it’s just too important and too risky to leave the nominations up to Hillary. This issue alone has persuaded me to vote rather than just sit it out.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. You make an excellent point about the strings attached to taking such assistance.

    Even if it doesn’t come to fruition during the term of the POTUS who enacted it, it could quickly become a bane if the next POTUS is an opposing party’s nominee.

    Like

Leave a Reply

