El’s Rabbit Trails: Lost in the World

One of my kids showed this to me yesterday. Feel free to press mute while you look at it. You might like it better that way. I did, and I think it’s worth sharing:

 

True confession: I’m a little too old to be as bad as portrayed here (I still appreciate the pleasure of actually getting together with people and talking!) but I often use my phone as a quick way to pop online and off without the time draining hassle of of sitting in front of a computer.

This was a good reminder to be a little more cognizant of that becoming too much of a habit.

12 thoughts on “El’s Rabbit Trails: Lost in the World

  1. I should probably tell you guys that I watched this without sound yesterday. It just occurred to me while I was out for a walk that I should probably listen to the music to get some idea what it’s all about.

    I hate the the music, LOL. The moving pictures really were worth 1,000 words all by themselves.

    Like

  2. Well, I have to admit I watched it without hearing the song. But the graphics appear to depict a malfunctioning world that has become increasingly chaotic and evil but no one really notices because everyone is self-absorbed. Quite literally, one can be “alone within a crowd”.
    While many would presume to blame technology as the root of the evil, I tend to think it just enhances the ability to access the types of garbage that people’s hearts are inclined to chase after.
    Like the Greek Narcissus, too many of us have become turned in on ourselves in an effort to find love and fulfillment that only can come from one place. So, we slowly die inside…cut off from our true source of life.

    JMO.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. While many would presume to blame technology as the root of the evil, I tend to think it just enhances the ability to access the types of garbage that people’s hearts are inclined to chase after.

    You make a good point there.

    Good to hear from you Heather.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. He’s doing a tough thing with the music; his visual genre is that of Popeye/King Features, which ordinarily would use a band a la a vaudeville theater with a lot of “punctuation” where the music and action stops. In this case, however, he’s drawing a picture where we’re carried away by our own habits and lusts, and assisted by technology, so he chooses something of a dance track.

    Which in turn interferes with us contemplating the visual message. I don’t know that I have a better idea, though.

    What I do know is that it’s a nice little challenge to encourage my kids to not be slave to the electronic device. :^)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What I do know is that it’s a nice little challenge to encourage my kids to not be slave to the electronic device. :^)

    True. The daughter who shared this with me is the one of ours who uses her phone the least. Besides her me, she’s the only one who doesn’t flip a lid if she leaves home without her device, LOL.

    There was something eery to me about two parts in particular. The one was when the men was being beaten and everyone was so busy recording that no one did anythign to intervene.

    The second was the one where a young woman is standing before a young man and without the lens of his virtual reality, she looked hideous to him. Seen through the virtual, the same woman was suddenly beautiful.

    The whole thing was a well composed synopsis of the extreme end of how we live in the post modern, digital West.

    Animation style was equal parts disturbing and attention grabbing. At least to me.

    Like

  6. Also, I agree with Bike and Heather, that the devices themselves aren’t necessarily the culprits here. But think with me for a moment.

    Say you decide you need to lose 15 pounds. You love Golden Oreos and Cape Cod Sweet and Spicy Jalapeno potato chips, *ahem*.

    I think we can all agree it becomes markedly easier to reach the desired goal if the pantry isn’t stocked with Oreos and Jalapeno potato chips.

    In other words, our devices and technology put the ability to indulge our weaknesses literally at the tips of our fngers.

    Like

  7. This is why it’s good to share the ideas you run across online with observant and/or smart people. I totally missed the fact that the guy harassing the girl on the subway was wearing a bars and stars t-shirt. That was deserving of what an acquaintance of mine called a “penalty flag”.

    She’s right.

    Like

  8. That video was beautifully done. I muted it as you suggested, which I think made it more powerful.

    When my two-year-old daughter cries tried to pull the cell phone out of my hand to play with it, I know that we have the makings of a problem. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. When my two-year-old daughter cries tried to pull the cell phone out of my hand to play with it

    Our two youngest are much older than two, but one of the things I started doing when I got tired of, “Can I play a game on your hone?” was bring a stack of kid friendly trivia and art books in the car.

    They still play their share of games, but it’s a bit more measured now.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I totally missed the fact that the guy harassing the girl on the subway was wearing a bars and stars t-shirt. That was deserving of what an acquaintance of mine called a “penalty flag”.

    Maybe I’m not giving urban blacks enough credit for forbearance here, but I’d expect that wearing the confederate battle flag on a subway would generally be an occasion for a confrontation of another type, one that probably wouldn’t go well for the wearer. Would be better than wearing a swastika in Tel Aviv, maybe, but not by much.

    (congrats on a completely implausible scenario?)

    On the flip side, I remember asking a young black couple about the matter when I visited Stone Mountain a while back as a pickup passed by flying it, and they just smiled and said they had bigger things to worry about. So maybe I’m not giving enough credit there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

