Counter-Intuitive

The whole idea behind reading The life changing magic of tidying up, then purging our book collection by roughly 80 books, was to cut down on the number of things in the house, including books. In fact, that was the thought behind my trip to our local Goodwill store today: to donate items.

Against my better judgement, after dropping off our delivery, I parked the car and along with our two youngest children ventured inside, and straight back to our local store’s rather large book section. Alas, I returned home with more stuff:

wp-1477513409736.jpg

 

Because the apples don’t fall far from the tree, the kids found something that caught their eyes as well:

wp-1477513308230.jpg

Grand total for the 6 books?  $3.77.

Old habits truly do die hard…

5 thoughts on “Counter-Intuitive

  1. I did get rid of more than I brought in.

    Less than $4 was a real steal for those books, and with 3 hardcover in great condition, I didn’t feel as bad about the purchase.

    Like

  2. Not sure if they “spark joy”, because I’m sure you gathered that I don’t believe things can spark joy.

    My benevolent dictator approved the purchase, so the opportunity to spark additional learning and enrichment will have to be enough.

    Like

Leave a Reply

