Quotable Literary Quotes #3

This one is courtesy of the ever profound and straightforward Zora Neale Hurston. I have included it before in a review of one of her books but the thought has been pushed to the forefront of my thinking of late. It’s worth sharing:

“I did not know then, as I know now, that people are prone to build a statue of the kind of person it pleases them to be. And few people want to be forced to ask themselves, ‘What if there is no me like my statue?’”

This era of Pinterest, Snap chat, Facebook, Twitter, and blogs makes it all too tempting and all too easy to build statues which draw viewers to admire as well as those who spend inordinate amounts of energy looking for the crack in the statue. It creates a perpetual and vicious cycle.

Enter this bit of wisdom from Voddie Baucham, which blessed me greatly:

“Whatever is the worst thing you think about me, I know something worse about me. Whatever the worse thing is that you could say about me is almost surely not the worst thing about me. I could no doubt do you one better.”

Pause and think about that and what it really means. Freedom perhaps?

In the spirit of Mrs. Piggle Wiggle, I would call this one alternately the “Must-Have-Others-Think-Well-of-Me” cure.

Have a great weekend!

2 thoughts on “Quotable Literary Quotes #3

  1. “I did not know then, as I know now, that people are prone to build a statue of the kind of person it pleases them to be.”

    Sounds a bit like the Greek story of Pygmalion. He built the statue of his perfect love and the Gods blessed him by bringing her to life.

    Sadly, this does not happen all the time in real life for people.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. He built the statue of his perfect love and the Gods blessed him by bringing her to life.

    The difference of course, is that the story you told is within the realm of possibility, even if it isn’t very probable.

    But the statue someone builds of themselves of the person it pleases then to be (but doesn’t exist)? All but impossible because it takes a certain level of self-deception for that statue to ever be in the first place.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

