Curriculum Review: Student Writing Intensives

 

swiLast year I asked for reviews of the Institute for Excellence in Writing’s program because we were considering using it with our fifth-grader. Because we are friends with several families who are a part of Classical Conversations (we are not), I wasn’t unfamiliar with it. It is the writing program endorsed by CC. However, I couldn’t get a good read on whether or not it would be a good fit for us.

The veteran homeschoolers who read the post were really helpful in helping me to narrow down what would be helpful and what might be expensive and extemporaneous. Not long after, as if it were serendipity, a mother who found the program too overwhelming let me borrow the Teaching Writing Structure and Style dvds. Frankly,  I found those overwhelming as well.

Included in the very back, however, were three samples lessons of the Student Writing Intensives, which the student is supposed to watch, follow along with, and do the writing assignments. I turned on the first lesson for our daughter, and she enjoyed it a great deal.

We briefly considered if it was worth the investment to buy the discs since theoretically, I could teach her everything covered through the program. Ultimately, we came to the conclusion that this is one instance where it would be worth the $149 to buy the program and let Mr. Pudewa teach her the basics of how to write effectively.

It has turned out to be worth the investment. Firstly, she genuinely looks forward to writing and following along with the lessons in a way that she simply didn’t when I was teaching her the principles. Secondly, Andrew Pudewa is more entertaining and engaging than Mom, and his way of breaking down the principles of writing is simply better than what I could have come up with on my own. Lastly, her creative juices are flowing without as much interference from me. She’s a more creative and effective writer.

In a nutshell, I heartily endorse Student writing Intensives, and I agree with the original commenters here that if you’re already a decent writer, you can save yourself $100 and skip the discs on Teaching Writing, Structure and Style.

4 thoughts on “Curriculum Review: Student Writing Intensives

  1. I know $109 may be expensive for some homeschoolers. If not for diligent curriculum trading, used curriculum fairs, and even the occasional gifting of desired curriculum, it might have been expensive for us as well.

    But since we saved in other areas, and because I am very passionate about the horrid writing instruction most kids get and my desire for our kids to write fairly well, it was worth it to us to spend the 100 bucks.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. One might be able to do a writing curriculum more cheaply, but it strikes me that $109 is pretty cheap compared to the cost of not being able to do college level work, and is definitely cheap compared to the thought of one’s children needing to live at home until they’re 40. Perspective, no? :^)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

